From wiki.ginstr.com
Jump to: navigation, search

Logging into the office software

You can log into the office software using the login credentials delivered with the software.

The office software can be accessed at: https://sso.ginstr.com/

Login screen at https://sso.ginstr.com/
Please enter your login credentials in this login screen and click on the
log in
button.

Once successfully logged in you will be forwarded to the ginstr lobby.

The ginstr lobby

Once successfully logged in you will see the lobby menu:

ginstr lobby menu

You are now in the lobby.

Depending on the software modules ordered from ginstr, here you will see different buttons that take you to different programs.

Clicking on the ‘ginstr web’ button takes you directly to the interface of the ginstr web office software.

The operation of ginstr web is described in more detail here.

In the top right-hand corner of the lobby you will see your name:

User name at top right-hand corner of the lobby

As soon as you hover the mouse over your name, a menu for basic settings for your user account appears:

User account settings menu at top right-hand corner of the lobby

Changing the password for the main account

Please follow steps 1 to 4 shown below to change the password for the main account immediately after you first log into the lobby.

Procedure for changing the password for the main account

The password provided during the delivery of the software is not safe because it was sent through e-mail or regular postal service.

Defining roles

Roles are rights groups.

You can create as many roles as you like and allocate a role to different users.

To do this, please click on the ‘roles’ menu item on the left-hand side and select ‘add role’.

Enter a name and brief description for the new role and click on the
add
button to save:
Entering role name and description in 'add role' menu


Now click on the name of this role to specify the authorisations associated with it.

Selecting role from 'roles' menu


In the column that has just opened, you are given a selection of all the ginstr apps allocated to your user account. Select the desired app here by clicking on its name:

Selecting desired app from 'roles' menu


In another column that has just opened, you will now see all the tables allocated to the software.

By clicking on the rights for each table, you can activate them for this role and deactivate them again by clicking on them once more:

Assigning user rights for selected app tables


The following rights can be assigned to each table:

create Once create has been activated for this role, all the users this role is allocated to can enter new data sets in the table but cannot make any changes.
read Once read has been activated for this role, all the users this role is allocated to can view the data in this table but cannot make any changes.
update Once update has been activated for this role, all the users this role is allocated to can edit existing data sets in this table and so overwrite the existing values
delete Once delete has been activated for this role, all the users this role is allocated to can delete existing data sets from this table.

Furthermore, you can specify per ginstr app and/or per table whether older data should be automatically deleted and if so, after how many days.

Activating this data cleansing is always useful for the following reasons if the old data is no longer required after a set period:

  • Many processing stages take longer the more data records are stored in the database
  • If the storage space assigned in the ginstr cloud exceeds the agreed data volume, additional monthly fees will be charged to expand the ginstr cloud storage
  • It is not possible to show more than 10,000 records on the screen at the same time. If there are more than 10,000 records, only part of the data will be loaded and the user then has to decide what part of the data they want to edit every time, as shown below:
Filtering data to be shown by time period


Automatically deleted records cannot be recovered. We therefore recommend that you regularly export older records.

If you have now successfully defined all the roles for your employees, you can proceed with creating the user accounts for them.

Creating subaccounts

For each ginstr customer, there is one main account for the individual who has overall responsibility for this software.

There is also a subaccount for each office employee or field employee. The total number of subaccounts you can create depends on what you have ordered from ginstr.

Now create the subaccounts for each of your office employees and mobile workers.

To do this, go to your user account’s settings and select the ‘subaccounts’ menu item on the left-hand side.

Now please click on ‘add subaccount’ in the second column.

Enter the e-mail address for the subaccount and specify a password:

Creating a new subaccount in the ‘subaccounts’ menu


Select one of the roles defined previously for the subaccount.

Please also activate the application in the ‘applications’ field.

Please ensure that the access status is set to ‘active’.

Save the newly created user subaccount by clicking on the
add
button.

Repeat this process until you have created all the necessary user subaccounts.

Now you can exit the settings menu with the ‘back to lobby’ button, which you will find at the bottom of the left-hand column.